## GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

Currently, the corporation is owned by the first two groups.

Telesat is not a Crown corporation, nor is it an agent of Her Majesty. Its annual report is tabled in the House of Commons by the Minister of Communications.

Textile and Clothing Board. This Board was established by SC 1971, c.39 to receive complaints and conduct inquiries about textile and clothing goods imported into Canada under such conditions as to cause or threaten serious injury to Canadian production. After its investigative procedures are completed, the Board makes written recommendations to the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce. The Board consists of three members appointed by the Governor in Council and maintains its head office in the National Capital Region.

**Treasury Board**. The Treasury Board was first established as a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada by Order in Council PC 3 of July 2, 1867, and was made a statutory committee in 1869. The Minister of Finance was appointed Chairman of the Board, with four other Privy Councillors to be designated as members by the Governor in Council. The Secretary of the Board and the members of his staff were employed by the Department of Finance.

By the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c.25) the Board Secretariat was established as a separate department of government with its own Minister, the President of the Treasury Board. The committee constituting the Treasury Board includes, in addition to the President, the Minister of Finance and four other Privy Councillors.

The Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10), defines the Treasury Board's responsibilities as the central management agency of government. These responsibilities include the organization of the Public Service, financial management, annual and longer-term expenditure planning, and expenditure control, including allocation of resources among departments and agencies of government; management of personnel functions in the Public Service; and improvement in the efficiency of management and administration in the Public Service.

The staff of the Treasury Board is divided into five branches. The Administrative Policy Branch is responsible for the development, interpretation, dissemination and evaluation of policies, guidelines and regulations in administrative areas, including the financial management systems needed to provide for adequate visibility and accountability, and other administrative inputs to government operations such as accommodation, travel, contracting, electronic data processing, etc., with a view to ensuring probity and prudence in the acquisition of administrative inputs as well as their effective and efficient use in support of departmental programs. The Planning Branch is responsible for the development and application of systems and procedures for evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of programs and projects and for providing advice and planning assistance for organizational change in government. The Personnel Policy Branch is responsible for all matters relating to personnel management in the Public Service including man-power requirements, manpower development and training, classification, compensation benefits and representing the government in collective bargaining with bargaining agents representing employees in the Public Service.

The Official Languages Branch is responsible for the development, monitoring, evaluation and communication of the federal government's official languages policies and programs and for the application of the Official Languages Act within the Public Service. The Program Branch is responsible for analyzing the policy, program and project proposals of departments and recommending to the Treasury Board an optimum allocation of available financial and manpower resources to achieve program objectives, and for expenditure control and estimates preparation.

The Secretariat of the Interdepartmental Committee on the 1976 Olympic Games reports to Parliament through the President of the Treasury Board, who is also the designated Minister responsible for the National Research Council and Canadian Patents and Development Limited.

**Unemployment Insurance Commission**. The Commission, an incorporated body of three commissioners, was established under the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act. One commissioner is appointed chairman and chief executive officer, one commissioner represents insured persons and one represents employers. The Commission administers the Act and Regulations, and performs other duties which the Minister of Manpower and Immigration may require. It functions at three levels: head office in Ottawa, five regional offices and a number of district and other offices across the country. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Manpower and Immigration.

The function of the Commission, in accordance with the Act and Regulations, is to ensure an income to the unemployed by making weekly payments to them for a specified time during the period of unemployment. Under the 1971 legislation, about two million more people are covered than under former legislation. Eight weeks of insured employment are required to qualify for all benefits; and with additional weeks an interruption of earnings caused by sickness or maternity can be covered.

Uranium Canada, Limited. This Crown company, incorporated in June 1971 under the Canada Corporations Act (RSC 1970, c.C-32) pursuant to the Atomic Energy Control Act (RSC 1970, c.A-19) is an agency corporation under Schedule C of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10). For all purposes it is an agent of Her Majesty and its powers may be exercised only as such. The shares of the company, with the